Stiftung Preußische Seehandlung

Awards & Anniversary

Stiftung Preußische Seehandlung

The Stiftung Preußische Seehandlung (Prussion Maritime Trade Foundation) is a vivid piece of economic and cultural history. In 1983, the remaining assets of the Prussian State Bank were dedicated to built its foundation. The Stiftung’s historical seat was today's Berlin-Brandenburg Academy of Sciences and Humanities. At this very location, a three-day program of award ceremonies, as well as a supporting program to promote the Foundation's cultural and scientific activities will take place in September 2023.

Founded by the state of Berlin, the Stiftung Preußische Seehandlung promotes culture and science and awards, among others, the prestigious Berlin Literature Prize, the Rahel Varnhagen Medal and, on the occasion of its 40th anniversary, the Jubilee Prize for Science.

The jubilee program and this year's three jubilee prize winners will be announced at a digital press conference streamed from Berlin’s city hall Rotes Rathaus in the presence of the Governing Mayor of Berlin, Kai Wegner, who by virtue of his office is Chairman of the Board of Trustees of the Stiftung Preußische Seehandlung.


Press material

Press accreditation


Press photos

  • Neubau der Königlichen Seehandlung um 1906, Gesamtansicht Ecke Jäger- und Markgrafenstraße, Archiv Preußischer Kulturbesitz, Bibliothek 47,130, Atlas 1904, BL. 36
  • Kassenhalle der historischen Seehandlung, heute Leibnizsaal der Berlin-Brandenburgischen Akademie der Wissenschaften, Archiv Preußischer Kulturbesitz, IX. HA, II 1021/3
  • Leibnizsaal der Berlin-Brandenburgischen Akademie der Wissenschaften
    Jägerstraße 22-23, 10117 Berlin